Languages

English

English is my native language, and I have been teaching it since early in high school, when I wound up at “the Korean table” in 9th grade biology and found myself helping my classmates take notes and make sense of new words. My undergraduate minor is in TESOL, and my master’s degree is in second language teaching, program development, and assessment (both for English and for other languages). I have taught English…

  • informally (drop-in, ad hoc tutoring) and formally (as a class teacher)
  • short and long term (8 week terms—multiple school years)
  • conversationally and academically
  • to elementary, middle school, high school, college, and adult students
  • to immigrant, international, and exchange students
  • to students whose native language I speak or understand, and to those I can only communicate with in English
  • inside the US, and in French and Japanese public schools

French

After English, my strongest language is French; I have achieved a rating of Superior (highest level) on the ACTFL Oral Proficiency Interview (OPI).  I began my study of French in preschool, and have continued it ever since.  I have worked in French-speaking environments both in the US and in France, and have traveled briefly to French-speaking Canada.  I traveled to France briefly as an adolescent, and after college spent almost a year living near Paris on a Fulbright English Teaching Assistantship, where I worked in a public high school in Val d’Oise as an English teaching assistant (assistante étrangère d’anglais).  I also traveled throughout southern France and briefly in Belgium and Monaco, as well as other European countries.  Though my academic training is in Continental (Parisian) French, I also have some knowledge of other varieties, and have worked with other speakers of French from Belgium, Canada, Senegal, Togo, Benin, and Cameroon.  I have taken advanced literary analysis courses in French, as well as translation/comparative stylistics, and was granted an interview for a position with the French Embassy in Washington, D.C.

Japanese

I began my study of Japanese in high school, in the Concordia Language Villages program I later directed.  I continued at Earlham College, where I majored in Comparative Languages and Linguistics, took 7 semesters of Japanese (including the highest-level course offered), and participated in the  Studies in Cross-Cultural Education (SICE) program.  On SICE, I lived in Morioka, Japan, with a four-generation host family, and took classes in Japanese language, culture, and educational practices while simultaneously working as an Engilsh teacher assistant at Joto Junior High School.  Since 2006, I have taught Japanese at Concordia Language Villages; I have managed and led teacher training and curriculum development since 2008.  Much of my teacher training activities and pre-season communication with teachers take place in Japanese, and many of the teachers I train are Japanese nationals.  I passed Level N2 (second-highest) of the Japanese Language Proficiency Test (JLPT) in December 2010.  During my study abroad, I traveled to Hiraizumi, Kyoto, Hiroshima, and Tokyo; since then I have also traveled to Akita and Nagoya on my own, and spent more time in Tokyo and Morioka.

Spanish

My “newest” language is Spanish, which I began studying during my senior year in college.  Thanks to my knowledge of French, I picked up the basics quickly, and skipped two semesters of instruction.  Though I have not had many opportunities to use Spanish, I can communicate at a basic level and get the gist of written and simple spoken material. I also participated in some 300-level Spanish grammar/composition and conversation courses during graduate school.

